A different way to cut out.

We’ve been making round tents for a while now.  When I look at the eave lines of the tents in manuscripts I can see that they’re very round.

leopold alterpiece 1492 detailfoglian5a

I’ve always cut the wall pieces with an arc at the top and bottom and get a very round looking tent.

cutting detail from the family double bell showing the wall and roof pieces
cutting detail from the family double bell showing the wall and roof pieces
single bell
single bell

Note the wavy shape at the eaves?  I think that’s because when we peg out the eave guys of these tents we don’t follow the line of the roof and put the pegs too far away from the base.  It’s counter intuitive, but something I’m going to keep an eye on.

You can see that the base is very round.

But many pictures don’t show a round base.

Hausbuch_Wolfegg_53r_53r1_Heerlager round tent detail

So I’m not going to cut the arc at the base of my next tent.It will give me more ventilation too.

I’d also like to use wooden pegs, as described in this great pattern/instructions for a Saxon Geteld.  They have a picture which is what inspired me this morning;

See the shape of the base?  Beautiful!

Aaargh!    I’ve written about this before

3 thoughts on “A different way to cut out.

  1. Wooden pegs would be cool!
    I agree that we often miss the roof line to the detriment of the eaves’ roundness. But the other thing those round eaved pictures have that lot of our tents don’t is the rope crows feet. When I put those onto mine, I found it made a big difference to the roundness I got. It makes sense logically too- the fabric might be cut in an arc in two dimensions, but gravity pulls on it in a third dimension, changing the shape at the edge, the crowsfeet are a countervailing pull in the right direction. You need to do that to get the shape right to the eye much more often that you need a guy for structural stability, hene the crowsfeet arrangement.

    1. Thanks for the reminder, I’d forgotten about crows feet :). They dropped in importance when I found that I could get a round tent without them, not to mention the difficulty we had in getting them right.
      I don’t often put up the tents I make, so I was shocked to realise the difference that putting the pegs closer to the tent made, even without crows feet.
      Also, take a look at the hausbuch drawing I based the circus and dining tents on. They don’t have crows feet! http://de.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Datei:Hausbuch_Wolfegg_53r_53r1_Heerlager.jpg

  2. It looks to me like some of them do have crowsfeet. But not all, I agree :)
    I think the dining tent and your tent also get some help from their greater size – it tricks the eye into filling in the roundness more than on smaller ones. But I also agree that you still got a pretty round result in actuality too.

Leave a Reply

