Not hub and spoke

I just found this lovely article on tents.  The author has some tent illustrations I haven’t seen before and she goes into the sort of detail I haven’t yet on choice of tent shape, and decoration.  Although I have commented before on the choice of round vs bell or rectangular.

There’s also some good pictures of random shelters, and wedges.

The Capitulation of Colle di Val d'Elsa by Pietro di Francesco Orioli, 1479

  • The Capitulation of Colle di Val d’Elsa by Pietro di Francesco Orioli, 1479
  • Detail from The camp of Charles V at Lauingen in the year 1546 by Matthias Gerung, 1551.

And then she spoils it all by choosing to make a spoked hub support structure for her tent.  I don’t understand why people want or need them.

  • They’re time consuming to erect.
  • They’re heavy and bulky to transport
  • They’re fiddly to make
  • There’s no clear evidence for them, other than conjecture based on a couple of pictures where the cone shape of the roof is maintained as the tent is taken down. (next time I’ll try to remember to take pictures of the way the canvas moves as one of our tents come down)
  • I will graciously admit that they take less land footprint than a pole tent with storm guys and eave ropes.

If you had seen my tent in the early morning this last Festival, you might think that there was a support structure holding the roof so perfectly round.  But it was just the tent ropes, tight from the dew, holding the eave to it’s designed circular shape.

I can’t find an early morning version of any of the tents I’ve designed or made. So have a couple of others.  These tents are all supported by centre poles and ropes from the eave.  The roofs were cut as a circular cone, so when the roof is held tight you see the circular shape we see in the pictures.

3 thoughts on “Not hub and spoke

  1. I have to strongly disagree on every point you make about hub and spoke except the bit about being fiddly to make and having a smaller footprint. They are that, but otherwise I don’t agree.

    I thought about leaving a long comment with my argument point by point (and I’d still be happy to do so), but I thought it might be good to see if you even want such discussion on your blog first.

  2. Pingback: Looking good! |

Leave a Reply

